Sections
The use of sections is only recommended when lecturers are only permitted to view and assess their own selected group of students, and the data relating to other groups must remain strictly confidential. If this is not necessary, sections offer no additional benefits and you are better off using standard groups (Groups).
Sections allow you to divide students and lecturers within a course into two or more sections. Once lecturers and students have been assigned to a section, they can only see other participants in their own section. Lecturers can also only view the submitted assignments and marks of the students within their specific section.
With Sections, you can:
- with the role of Teacher (and below), only view and assess the grades, assignments, quizzes and surveys of students within your section;
- divide students into groups within a section ;
- make course material available to students of a specific section with the use of release conditions.
Only the course coordinator (Coordinator role) will keep access to all contents, sections, and participants within a course. And only they can create and manage sections.
How do I enable Sections within my course?
To make use of Sections within your course, you must first enable this function.
- In the navbar of your course go to Administration.
- Next, click Course Admin.
3. Go to Course Offering Information.
4. Under Sections, tick the box Course has sections.
5. At the bottom of the page, click Save.
Ready to get started with Sections? Navigate to:

